Middleton St. George CC Annual Knockout Tournament

  • DSC_0587
  • DSC_0578
  • DSC_0590
  • DSC_0589
  • DSC_0583
  • DSC_0585

On Sunday 30th August four teams entered into the fray – Spin Doctors, Easybeats, SG Petch and Darlington Borough Council.

At 12.00 noon battle commenced between the Spin Doctors and Darlington Borough Council, but the Council were soon anaesthesized by the Doctors and were defeated fairly comfortably. In the second semi-final the Easybeats lived up to their name as they too fell quite comfortably to SG Petch.

So the final was set – SG Petch v The Spin Doctors and it commenced at 4.30pm.

SG Petch batted first with Tom Sowerby and Liam Coates opening the innings. Tom hit 25 no and Liam 27 no, Liam hitting three huge sixes along the way. Three lost balls!
Andy Loynes then came in and plundered his usual 25 no, but Nicky Rathbone was unfortunate to be run out on 8. The next four were all caught – John Cowan 10, Gareth Roe 6, Jess Walker 3, and a splendid knock by Alan Reed for 18. Alistair Stoddart and Darrell Martin saw the innings out – SG Petch finishing at 154 for 5. Happy with that, thought it would be enough.

Spin Doctors had other ideas though! Initially starting very slowly, being restricted to very few runs by some very tight bowling by Coates, Roe, Sowerby, Loynes, Rathbone and Reed, they fell way below the run-rate required of nearly 8 an over, and looked as if they would not make it. However, openers Mitchell and Patel dug in, and although Patel got caught at 18 off Andy Smith’s bowling, Mitchell 28 no, followed by Watkinson and Quick, who each scored 26 no, the scoring rate was accelerating.

Ramesh was bowled by Reed on 4, but Wilkinson 17 no and Kirkland 5 no, saw them over the line with just 3 balls to spare. A very exciting final, played in excellent spirit, and congratulations must go to the Doctors fine batting performance reaching 157-2.

An excellent days cricket, very well staged by Dave Glew and all his helpers, plenty of burgers for Andy Smith and ice creams all round. Trophy handed to Spin Doctors Captain and very nice winners and runners-up medals for all the finalists. Overall man of the tournament trophy was awarded for the 2nd year running to Andy Loynes of SG Petch for all-round performance in both matches.

Second year in a row SG Petch were beaten in the Final in the last over. Third time lucky next year boys?

Previous posts...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: